UnderGround Forums

FilmmakerGround >> Learning more about lighting?

5/6/05 4:22 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Aaron Little
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 06-May-05 04:22 PM

As a video producer I am completely self taught. Forums and OJT has been my primary source of education. Of course I still have a LOT to learn but the place I feel that I am the most lacking at this point in time is lighting.

I primarily do two types of video, Event (MMA shows) and Training videos. Obviously I am stuck with the available lighting At MMA events. What I am stuck on is how to light a room for a training video where the people doing the teaching are moving all over the place. I realize I need to move on past the halogen work lights I have now but I would like to learn a little bit more before I invest in lights I can not use.
5/6/05 5:27 PM
Lynn@Renzos

Edited: 06-May-05 05:27 PM
You need to check out this book: "Placing Shadows: Lighting Techniques for Video Production" by Gloman/LeTourneau on Focal Press Publications. This is an amazing book and will help you a ton.
5/6/05 5:48 PM
Aaron Little

Edited: 06-May-05
Awesome! Thanks Lynn. I will head over to Amazon and check it out now.
5/6/05 6:25 PM
Lynn@Renzos

Edited: 06-May-05
No problem.
5/7/05 6:26 AM
djdb

Edited: 07-May-05
The main thing you're going to want to do is set up diffuse light to fill the room, for example using a softbox. Work lights are focused & harsh; that's half the battle right there. The other half is finding a camera that can deal with poor lighting conditions. Next time you're at a televised sporting event, look at the gear they're using to function under the same lighting environments you are. -r
5/9/05 1:47 AM
Aaron Little

Edited: 09-May-05
Thanks djdb

What suggestions does everyone have in regards to purchasing a starter light kit?
5/9/05 2:04 AM
Lynn@Renzos