UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Help Me Choose a Math Elective

5/16/05 7:54 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
jgibson
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 16-May-05

Alright, I am an EE student and need one more math class in the fall for a Math minor. I am looking for a class that will complement my EE studies. Here are some of my choices: 1. Complex Analysis (study of complex variables, differentiation and integration complex functions, intro to Riemann surfaces) 2. Applied Differential Equations II (basically it focuses on boundary value problems, power series solutions, intro to PDE's) 3. Number Theory 4. Vector Analysis--Modern vector methods with applications for students of mathematics, physics, and engineering. 5. Statistics for Engineering and Scientists II (point and interval estimation, hypothesis testing, regression, correlation, experimental design, analysis of variance, multivariable experiments, nonparametrics, statistical quality control, and computer applications) 6.Discrete Mathematics Topics in discrete mathematics, including propositional logic, sets, relations, inverse functions, divisibility, induction, recurrences, inclusion exclusion, permutations, combinations, graphs, graph coloring, and applications. 7. Boolean Algebra (4) Axiomatic treatment of Boolean algebras, finite Boolean algebras, representation theorems. Introduction to partially ordered sets and lattices. Transfinite induction, Zorn's lemma. Applications to logic and switching circuits.
5/16/05 11:48 PM
Revolver of Reason

Edited: 16-May-05
I don't think it will compliment EE.. but I would pick this - 3. Number Theory
5/17/05 1:45 PM
Dogbert

Edited: 17-May-05
The Boolean Algebra course looks a little bit too theoretical. I love this stuff, but I´m not sure it is of much use in applied areas. I guess 1,2,4,5 would be the best picks.
5/17/05 3:58 PM
MO-HOLLYWOOD

Edited: 17-May-05 04:00 PM