UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Question on Pot Usage

7/17/05 11:13 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
jgibson
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 17-Jul-05

I have a potentiometer. It has 3 terminals. What goes where? Where do I attach the input signal. Where do I attach the output terminal. And why does it have three terminals?
7/17/05 11:28 PM
Power Paw

Edited: 17-Jul-05
troll me once, shame on you, troll me twice, shame on me... mr. EEng can't figure out a potentiometer? or you just wanted to use that thread title i'm leaning towards the latter :-P
7/18/05 12:27 AM
jgibson

Edited: 18-Jul-05
I do like the thread title. But no, really. I am still a newbie to EE stuff. I'm just getting into it after getting rid of all my other engineering requirements. I've got this circuit I'm breadboarding. When I hook up the pot to an LED, it seems to work just fine. But now I've got it hooked to a transistor (an NPN), and when I adjust the pot for less resistance, the NPN should shut off the flow to the emitter, but it isn't. I've tried switching out several transistors and several pots, but I just can't seem to get it to work. I've got the current coming in the A side and the current going out the C side. I am assuming this is correct. What am I supposed to do with the B-side?
7/18/05 11:09 PM
Power Paw

Edited: 18-Jul-05