UnderGround Forums

Weapons UnderGround >> dog bros tape sets

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

7/28/05 7:07 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
circusfreak
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 28-Jul-05

Hi, could anyone tell me which is the better tape set of the dog brothers web site for a complete begginer. either Real Contact Stickfighting 6 Tape Set or DBMA Series 5 Tape Set .i have no knowledge of stick fighting what so ever, so i need a tape set that has the fundemantals. also could anyone recomend any books on stick fighting. thanks in advance for any replies.
7/28/05 3:50 PM
theMachine23

Edited: 28-Jul-05
RCS is an awesome set. i haven't seen the others. i'm guessing the later series is more advanced. i believe another difference is that the RCS set is taught by Top Dog, and the 2nd set is Crafty Dog. there's a pretty cool book called "stickfighting" by masaaki hatsumi that has lots of moves. IMHO it's much harder to get stuff from a book vs. video.
7/29/05 12:22 PM
circusfreak

Edited: 29-Jul-05 12:23 PM
hi themachine23, thanks for the reply. ive seen the book you mentioned on amazon but its got quite a few bad reviews. is it worth the money?
8/1/05 11:27 AM
Crafty Dog

Edited: 01-Aug-05
Woof Circusfreak: The first series is mostly about solo training and for a complete beginner it is what I would recommend. Just so I don't scare off more experienced practitioners, please allow me to note that the material presented so there is plenty for practitioners of all levels. Although this series is 12 years old, IMHO it remains quite relevant and it remains a solid seller. In the first series, I assist Top Dog and in the second series I am the featured instructor except for "Krabi Krabong" which is taught by Ajarn Salty Dog. This series is mostly aimed at two man training. In the coming weeks and months several new DVDs will be coming out. Most will be taught by me, but a couple will by taught by Guro Lonely Dog. Woof, Crafty Dog