UnderGround Forums

Weapons UnderGround >> Knife & Gun disarms.

9/27/05 8:59 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Bull_in_chinashop
106 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 27-Sep-05

I was trying to explain to someone on the judo forum why japanese jujitsu and aikido do not offer realistic disarms, because the reality is that disarms themselves are crap! and that the training methods of these traditional arms do not yield realistic training vs fully resiting non compliant persons. naturally I'm a shitty "sport" guy and I have no credability even thought I've been a student of WWII combatives, LEO training and weapons training for several years now. I thought that maybe if he heard it from this forum, he might be able to get opinions from experienced people.
9/27/05 9:38 PM
TacticalGrappler
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Bull- I posted over there, check it out.
9/27/05 11:05 PM
Bull_in_chinashop
106 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Thank you for your input TG. Well stated.
9/30/05 9:52 AM
Bull_in_chinashop

Edited: 30-Sep-05
flopsy, When you have no choice, the best way to attempt a disarm (IMHO) is similar principle to judo and bjj submissions - apply the leverage of your entire body vs. his arm. ex. control his arm with both hands, get him donw on the ground and immobilize him as you control the weapon.
9/30/05 2:22 PM
Bull_in_chinashop

Edited: 30-Sep-05
honestly? whatever it takes... I'm not trying to delu???oyself into thinking that it's going to go smoothly.
10/1/05 3:15 PM
Bull_in_chinashop

Edited: 01-Oct-05
20% effective might = 80% chance of getting you hurt worse.. Not being nagative, just thinking or the big picture.
10/2/05 11:07 PM
Bull_in_chinashop

Edited: 02-Oct-05