UnderGround Forums

DantheWolfMan UnderGround >> Get to a PDR Instructor

3/7/02 8:32 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
sylvan
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 07-Mar-02

I'm not the biggest expert in any way shape or form, but I thought I'd wirte a quick review for others to let them know what It' like to train with a PDR instructor. Myinsructor, Calen Paine, doesn't know I'm writing this, so I hope you read this as sincere. The past2-3 months I've been doing a intensive Personal protection course under Calen Paine, an Instructor here in Edmonton AB, Canada. I have 9 years experience with a variety of martial arts, and although I'm no expert, I do feel I know with some distinction between the arts. Just like Tony and his videos, unless you experience them, you'll have no idea what I'm talking about. We worked conditioning to death, Range rover, analysized and developped the basics of the spear, and speared everything in sight. We did sucker punch drills, worked and collected dialogue, grappled in purely functional sense. We did scenario training, multiple attacker drills, and most of all, oh yes our favorite, the panic attack. There is nothing like the classes that I went to. Maybe I'm naive but I've never had instrution given in such a functional, understandable, and THOUROUGH way. 15 imn. and your brain was in overload! We worked boxing, and clinching, mental filters, and attitudes....I could go on. The final result: I've never felt so much more humbled by the experience of near combat and by the understanding of it's chaos and reality concerning my and my limitations, but this I do know. I can fight, and if I have to, I KNOW I CAN PROTECT MYSELF. This knowledge plus all of the other things I've gained and taken with me into daily life, resures me that what I'm learning isn't just real, but more all encompassing, and that's nice. I just have to mention that there is something about this art that has made all of my peers and instructor, s