UnderGround Forums

PhilosophyGround >> Value theory

1/25/06 3:40 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Indrek R.
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 25-Jan-06

Hey :) Haven´t written on the forum much before but read it sometimes. I am studying Philosophy and it is my 3rd year of BA. How many people are interested in meta-ethics and value theory more specifically on this board? What is your view on the nature or essence of value most fundamentally? Is there "intrinsic value" in the sense of value being something objective and part of the fabric of the universe in your opinion? Is value like a secondary quality? What is value? Trying to start a good discussion of such things here :) P.S Anyone interested in environmental ethics?
1/28/06 5:40 AM
FudoMyoo
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 28-Jan-06

"How many people are interested in meta-ethics and value theory more specifically on this board? "

Me me me! :)

"What is your view on the nature or essence of value most fundamentally?"

I have strong emotivist leanings.

"Anyone interested in environmental ethics? "

sure, this is also interesting. I´m reading Peter Singers "One World" right now.

1/29/06 4:06 AM
Indrek R.
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 29-Jan-06
Hey Fudo Fun-fun-fun about to start ;) Describe through your emotivist leanings what you think "value" generally is.
1/29/06 8:02 AM
FudoMyoo

Edited: 29-Jan-06 08:03 AM
I think "value" is a humancreated concept, which means that ethical statements lack truthvalue. i.e. objective good and bad, or right and wrong doesn´t exist imo. Statements like "Killing is wrong" etc generally expresses emotions of the speaker or they can also function like imperatives (Don´t kill).
1/29/06 1:31 PM
Indrek R.