UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Who/How to ask for letters of rec.

2/11/06 9:08 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
signaljammer
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 11-Feb-06

I'm a transfer student at my university, and have only been going here 2 semesters... (for math and computer science.) I'm a good student but I've never had the same teacher twice and don't know any that well outside of class participation... I don't graduate for another year yet, but I was wondering about asking for letters of recommendation for grad school. Is there some kind of protocol for this? I've never asked for one before.
2/11/06 11:39 AM
dracovich

Well i couldn't tell you about grad school, but i needed two of them to apply as an international exchange student as an undergrad. Basicly i went to two professors that were teaching me at the time, and asked them beforehand if i could get a recommendation at the end of the course if they felt i deserved one and they said sure. Basicly i did it because it's often hard for professors to remember you if it's someone you had a while ago, and i figured if i went to them beforehand they'd take more notice and make an effort to see if i was someone they'd want to put their name behind. I don't know how the system in your country works, but the two i asked both taught me in recitation class (basicly problem solving class), so i made an effort of always having finished my homework before the class and volunteering to do the problems on the blackboard to try and leave an impression. I think it'd be harder to do that with someone who just lectured me. Then when the courses were over and i'd gotten graded, i went back to them and got two great recommendations.
2/11/06 5:03 PM
Andrew Yao