UnderGround Forums

DantheWolfMan UnderGround >> Nerves.....

3/7/02 8:32 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
MTripp
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 07-Mar-02

OK, shoot me but this isn't MMA related! It has a lot to do with mental edge! I have been a professional magician/comic for some time now. I took a retirment from the stage for about 6 years as I ran my school and dealt with other issues. A "comeback" has fell into my lap; 6 shows this Fri, Sat, and Sunday (new years) as the featured headliner at a major hotel here... ..whats the problem? I know what I'm going to do, and I know I can do it; but I have never been this afraid and nervous in my life! It's like I can't get the timing, and things (the tricks and the jokes) just feel "off". I really have to get my mind and fears in check as I am going to have to hit six home runs on these shows if I am to have any chance of the comeback. Any suggestions on how to do that would be of great help.....
The RealStudent

You don't have to hit 6 home runs. You only have to hit one home run at a time. It may not even have to be a home run; a triple. a double...getting on base is good. As Coach states: fear is F.E.A.R.= False Expectations Appearing Real. Mr. Tripp, you are one of the most accomplished fighters currently alive! There is damned little you cannot do if you have to. I've no doubt the same discipline has gone over to your prestidigitation and comic timing. You don't do [i]randori[/i] with 6 opponents at once; neither are you facing 6 shows at once here. Take each one as it comes. You can only come out of it better off. Not doing it will not aid your comeback; doing it will aid it, no matter what. We all learn more from our trecails than we do from our successes; you will either take a step up in your career, or you will take a giant leap up in your career, but there's really no down side. Yes, it's a challenge - isn't that great? Break a leg, pal - but please, not mine! RealStudent