UnderGround Forums

FilmmakerGround >> diff. between quality of movies

6/8/06 9:16 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
amandabuckner
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 08-Jun-06

I'm just starting out with learning about video stuff. I'm wondering if anyone can tell me what it is that makes a b grade movie look so different from a reg. movie. Is it the type of camera?
6/9/06 10:55 AM
Lynn@Renzos

Edited: 09-Jun-06
Amanda... I would say budget and talent. Give us an idea of what b movie you are talking about and we can get more specific on why it has a certain look.
6/10/06 10:46 AM
Demitrius Barbito
40 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 10-Jun-06
The CSPT
When a director gets a script he starts to think of how "he sees it". In a good production the director and cinematographer work together to make the directors "vision on the movie" come to life. The director decides how the story is told so much depends on his vision and having a support crew that can acheive it. Also, as Lynn said, budget, talent, general/motivated lighting, sound/ sound effects, score, sets etc all play a role. In the world of martial arts instructionals it's just the same. There are some productions with style and no substance, substance and no style and then there are also some with both. It just depends on the initial vision of what you want to convey and then it's execution. Demi IndependentKoncepts.com
6/10/06 10:02 PM
BarkLikeADog

Edited: 10-Jun-06 10:03 PM