UnderGround Forums

SBGI >> SBG NYC

6/15/06 3:41 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
originalSEAL
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 15-Jun-06

I intend to join the NYC chapter of SBG in the near future. I have a few questions about the facilities. 1) Is it geared more for sport or self-defense? 2) Do they teach leg locking in gi and no-gi classes? 3) Do they teach compression (muscle) locks and spinal locks? 4) How much wrestling is taught? Do you teach a select number of takedowns/throws or there's no such limit? I mean, will the wrestling training make me competitive in a wrestling match, given that I have no experience in any type of wrestling? 5) Do they teach any Judo throws? Thank you very much.
6/15/06 8:01 AM
Mike Sweeney

You may wish to contact Christian Montes directly. His info is available on their site: SBGi NYC Mike
6/15/06 12:18 PM
asymmetrik

I'm sure Christian will answer these more completely, but I'll give it a shot... 1) The training is geared toward functional performance. Sport and self-defense are really not so different. We do not train "dirty" tactics or weapons or scenario hysterics if that's what you mean. There are a lot of good articles on the subject at www.straightblastgym.com. 2) Yes. 3) Yes. (This deserves a longer answer) 4) A very good amount of wrestling is taught, but it's not sport specific to wrestling competition (ie. we don't train under wrestling rules). Focus is more on submission grappling, bjj, and mma, but I'm sure that if you were interested in doing wrestling competition then your training could probably be adjusted to it. There are people of all experience levels and backgrounds at the gym. 5) Yes, but most takedowns we train aren't cloth specific. I've been training with Christian for just over 3 years now and highly recommend it. Stop in for a class, you'll definitely enjoy it.
6/15/06 9:10 PM
originalSEAL