UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Bad grades= grad school pointless?

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

12/12/06 12:57 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
The Detriment
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 12-Dec-06

When I was in college I didn't get great grades. I averaged about a 2.6 or 2.7, which is extremely mediocre. My major grades weren't much better. While I have been able to get good jobs after graduation, I've been thinking about going to grad school, specifically to business school. I'm being treated for ADD and think I could apply myself far better now than I could when I was an undergrad, but I know my undergrad grades will hamper my ability to get into decent grad schools. Is there any way, if I absolutely *kill* on my GMAT, I could be considered for good business schools? I've also got a few years of "real world" job experience, for what that's worth.
12/12/06 7:46 PM
Jonwell
6 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 12-Dec-06
Man I hope not...
12/13/06 3:25 AM
FiatLux

Edited: 13-Dec-06
No its not pointless. However, chances are you won't get any financial aid at all. Also, know that most programs will require you to maintain a 3.0 GPA or be kicked out. The question is going to be how much is an MBA or whatever degree you go for actually worth in terms of time and money.
12/14/06 9:22 PM
eabeam
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 14-Dec-06
1. Get some work experience. 2. contact the school's Disability Student Services for advice on how to work their admissioins process. Including... should I let admissions know? 3. Do well on GMAT.
12/15/06 10:30 AM
likahn

Edited: 15-Dec-06