UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Getting a PhD later in life?

2/15/07 4:29 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
New2MMA
22 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 15-Feb-07

I've been teaching physics for a few years now and love the subject more and more. I started out teaching chemistry and that is what I have a degree in. I've been playing with the idea of going back to school, completing some undergrad courses in physics, and going back to grad school to study it. Does anyone here have any experience with going back to grad school part-time, while working full time, having a family, etc? How about just going back to school for 2, 3 or 4 years? Tell me about it if you do.
2/15/07 5:02 PM
rkjmd
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 15-Feb-07 09:36 PM
I just did it. It's possible, but very difficult. Time pressure is ungodly. Try not to get fat and out of shape like I did. And try to limit the enormous student loan debt. Other than that, you'll love it. Spend one full weekend day with your family every two weeks to keep it real.
2/19/07 5:45 PM
rkjmd

Edited: 19-Feb-07
Do it.
2/26/07 10:09 PM
rkjmd

Edited: 26-Feb-07
So, are you?
3/19/07 7:43 AM
eabeam
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 19-Mar-07
I am getting my Ed.D. and I am 34 with a wife and child. I am also trying to keep a full-time job. It is possible, but get your life together 1st. In less than 2 years, I have gained 10 lbs. I have lost an inch on my neck, chest, and thighs only to find them on my gut. I get winded thinking about exercise. I was a Division 1 rower for 2 years as an undergrad. I fought muay thai and submission at ages 28 and 29. It is not like I was out of shape to begin with....
3/21/07 1:11 PM
DustDevil

Edited: 21-Mar-07