MMA fighter mistakes referee for opponent
The following video is probably the craziest thing I’ve seen all week.
Trench Warz 20 went down this past Saturday in Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands and featured one of the craziest incidents that ever happened inside a cage.
The footage begins with the two fighters engaging in a striking exchange. The fighter with the blue shorts seems to be having a hard time handling his own. His opponent recognizes that and starts to unleash on him. Two body kicks, a head kick and a right hook later, the fighter in blue crumbles to the ground. The fighter with the gray and yellow shorts seizes the opportunity to throw a fight-finishing soccer kick that lands! His opponent is done, barely conscious.
So, that’s where things end, right?
Not quite! The fighter is pretty dazed and thinks that the referee is his opponent, so he starts fighting him!
The referee took to Instagram to explain what went down: “I had the honor of being one of the refs for Trench Warz 20 this past weekend. I had one of the best experiences as a ref and martial arts competitor with this fight in particular. These guys were getting after each other right off the bat. With all the adrenaline running an illegal kick was thrown to the down opponent as you see in the footage. Usually fighters cover their heads and pretend to be in antagonizing pain to sway a disqualification win. This fighter was totally opposite of that. He was GAME! He had the Chamorro Islander fighting spirit and had no giving up in him even after getting dazed. I just happened to be in front of him as he got back up! LOL. It was an amazing night of fights! Si Yu’us Maase @ifamiliaku_mass and the fighters for putting on an amazing show! Yamato Damashii in full effect! LONG LIVE THE ISLAND WARRIORS!”