David Jacobs' BJJGround Winning by points in BJJ vs Wrestling

10 days ago
7/30/03

^^^^ You can also create distance, frame, and standup if he is applying pressure too but I generally use that energy to attack.

Edited: 10 days ago
7/30/03
BriggsSeekins -

I mean, it's a sporting event with rules and a scoring system. So if you lost on points, you lost on points. I would agree taking somebody straight down and choking them is more dominant than being mostly in neutral positions the entire match and then one guy gets a guard pass late in the match--but the athlete with the most points still won. Because I have some wrestling background and good pressure on top, I have definitely won matches on points against guys who I felt were probably better at jiu jtisu than me--if we had been just rolling with no time limit, there might have been more chance that they would eventually get me. But I was still happy enough to win the match. I was executing what I wanted to do under the rules of the contest--maybe not executing entirely, to get the finish,  but more fully than they did. I do think refs should call stalling if somebody is not trying to improve position and set up a submission.

I don't think the "well in a real fight" argument has any relevance--we're talking a sport, not a fight. It's a combat sport, but still a sport. I've had matches I lost where I spent most of the match in very dominant top positions. If it had been a fight, I would have been able to possibly TKO him with strikes. But the guy ended up defending submission attemps and then catching me. I didn't think, well--if it was a fight I would have smashed him while he was underneath me. I thought, fuck, that guy managed to pull out a nice win by doing that one particular thing better than me at that one particular moment.