Train Judo Ground New to Judo help.

8/6/18 8:27 AM
12/5/12

So Ive been doing BJJ for nearly 9 years. Last year I had a pretty bad knee injury during partially tore my acl, Mcl, lcl there all still intact but the knee still feels uncomfortable in certian positions.

Anyway I have just started Judo and I'm terrified of doing the stand up sparring. I'm still worried about my knee and I just can't get over my fear. 

Has anyone come back from a bad knee injury and returned to training does anyone have any advice. 

8/6/18 2:05 PM
1/1/01

That's a tough one.  A lot of goes are tentative about stuff like that. Stand up tachi- waza can be rough.  You will have to take it in steps. Judo is throwing, more throwing and then throwing even more.  It may be that you have to work around that injury. How are the instructors you have?  Are you older?

8/6/18 4:56 PM
12/5/12
Outkaster -

That's a tough one.  A lot of goes are tentative about stuff like that. Stand up tachi- waza can be rough.  You will have to take it in steps. Judo is throwing, more throwing and then throwing even more.  It may be that you have to work around that injury. How are the instructors you have?  Are you older?

The instructors are great they understand my concerns and are happy at the moment for me to do ground work with their students as I can show them stuff on the ground. 

I don't mind being thrown it's more the inside and outside trips  

I'm 29 years old. 

8/7/18 7:37 AM
3/28/07

Starting judo with that type of injury is very difficult.  You need knee stability in doing the throws on someone else let alone being the receiver of throws.  Helping students on the ground is good as long as you yourself first learn judo groundwork.  Students there are to learn judo not BJJ.   I don't see how you would be able to do some actual standup sparring.  My advice would be top learn the judo throws and groundwork and don't risk further injury to your knee.

8/7/18 11:30 AM
1/1/01