OtherGround Forums Any ham operators in the house?

11 days ago
9/22/20

I have a few friends that are experts and I'm a lowly tech. I'm looking at establishing a good vehicle setup and have a Yaesu FT2D for hiking/camping. I'd like to get something Fusion capable for the vehicle. That means Yaesu I guess. Any recommendations? What are the OG hams using?

Additionally, I may need an "explain it to me like I'm 5" breakdown for:

• APRS
  • MURS
  • FRS
  • GRMS
  • Wires

Any resources you found helpful as a newb would be appreciated. 

11 days ago
7/27/04

Sub since I just started watching videos on it on YouTube

11 days ago
3/19/04

I'll operate your ham OP.

Edited: 11 days ago
1/1/01
I got my ticket a few months ago. I am not that knowledgable and just run a basic Baofeng HT w a Nagoya 770.

I always wanted to get my feet wet on it but taking a test to get a technician's license just seemed daunting. Decided fuck it, studying for a day and took it the next day. Passed it 33\35. It is VERY doable to pass it and study. Or just slowly study and keep taking the practice tests on hamstudy until you are consistently passing the tests. Due to Covid, you can take online tests. It's definitely worth it if you have any sort of interest in communications.
11 days ago
9/22/20

This should go without saying but don't post your call signs here.

11 days ago
1/1/01

Myfriends neighbor put up a huge antenna that blocked his ocean view.  The countywouldnt do shit because ham operators get special zoning allowances since they help during emergencies.

11 days ago
3/19/04
Tim Duncan - 

Myfriends neighbor put up a huge antenna that blocked his ocean view.  The countywouldnt do shit because ham operators get special zoning allowances since they help during emergencies.

lol That licks.

11 days ago
4/27/15