OtherGround Forums I'm growing fruits and veggies in a potted garden

5/3/18 11:27 PM
1/1/01
B Sharps -
Mutant - 
B Sharps - Same situation, I rent and the backyard is all swimming pool and patio. Got a couple tomato plants, 5 different types of peppers, cucumber, watermelon, and 5 cactus. Need to get some trellis for the everybody this weekend. This is the first time I have ever tried to grow anything. So far we got 5 little tomatoes.

Yeah I'm going to pick up a trellis this weekend for the watermelon that fucker is growing like weeds.

Cucumber is the same. When I transplanted it last week I thought I had killed it. 10 days later and the growth is crazy.

I'm going to do cucumbers got to research a good time to starting them here in the desert southwest.

5/3/18 11:30 PM
1/1/01
GaryG - in

teach me

I'm still a novice I went to my local nursery and asked them and they gave me good advice. Plus, they have everything you need plus plants from seed to starters and various growth stages. They also have pre potted which I did for the hanging tomatoes and strawberries. 

5/3/18 11:48 PM
7/16/11

In to show off my raised beds at work tomorrow 

5/3/18 11:48 PM
6/15/16

No offer of some sweet veggies??

5/3/18 11:55 PM
1/1/01
NEFARIOUS -

I don't like your tone Nefertiti! 

5/3/18 11:55 PM
4/24/07
Make sure you hire a U.S citizen to sell them for you by the freeway!
5/4/18 12:06 AM
12/22/10
Mutant -
Captain CargoShorts: Pitbull Apologist -
Mutant -

So we rent and the yard is rock but still wanted a garden so we started a potted garden. I'm growing tomatoes, jalapeños, yellow sweet peppers, eggplant, strawberries, hanging Tom Thumb tomatoes, watermelon, and a sugar cane for my terrorist neighbor. Plus last week I started an herb garden with rosemary, basil, sage, chocolate mint, parsley.

I also want to get a potted dwarf Meyer lemon tree so will be looking at a local nursery this weekend. Anyone else growing a potted garden? 

That's a beautiful garden.