OtherGround Forums Income inequality

9/12/19 5:43 PM
8/23/11

I’m not a proponent of “taxing” the rich

or high corporate tax rates as that’s just a tax on the consumer 

I believe the better the economy does, that it benefits the rich, the middle class and the low income earners (as we are seeing today ) 

wages are starting to rise as the market for employees gets tighter.. good employees are worth more. 

I’m also completely against capping wealth. I don’t think compensation for CEOS should be capped in any way. 

However would a ratio between what you can pay a ceo and what you can pay your lowest paid employees work to help reduce the income inequality gap?

lets say the average CEO makes 250 times that of the average worker 

instead of a min wage for corps could we say that the ratio needs to be 250 times minimum? 

That way there is no cap on ceo comp.. and workers benefit from the company doing better. (Assuming the ceo deserves his / her big salary. 

Corps will still want the best talent at the top but won’t be able to gut salaries to pay for it. 

If the CEO gets a raise the lowest earners also get a raise to keep the ratio in check. 

9/12/19 5:45 PM
8/23/11

Give me the pros and cons. 

Cons not being un American or not letting free markets work. 

Free markets need some regulations (already happening)

why not this 

9/12/19 5:51 PM
12/26/05

I guess, what would be the point of this?  To limit inequality?

What makes this ratio significant?  What gini coefficient effect would this avoid? 

How would this avoid the same problem the minimum wage has, where new entry level employees aren't worth the value of their wage in productivity ?

9/12/19 6:08 PM
7/18/16

Can't remember where I read this but CEO pay is constantly rising compared to employee wages because the Board of Directors usually has a compensation committee that calculates CEO pay as follows:

The industry average for CEO compensation is XXXX.