OtherGround Forums Poker: getting back in after ~ 10 years...

Edited: 4/20/18 11:11 PM
1/1/01
I started learning/studying poker back in 2003 playing online, live, etc. Cool stuff, fun times back then, it was the wild west online with the rakeback bonuses and unlimited poker sites. Played one WSOP from the winnings I made (mostly from rakeback) and busted out the first day. Played in Vegas and occasionally in LA in the card rooms, but not too much the past 10 years or so.

Just recently discovered Doug Polk, Lex Veldhuis and other videos on YouTube on poker strategy and WOW...the strategy and technique has evolved so much. Really interesting to see the young guys with all of the programs and technology and game theory applying that to the game and see how much the game has evolved.

I almost feel like the old school NHB guy training back in the day...and then seeing the "modern" MMA guy. It's very cool IMO and love to see anything evolve over time.

Lex has some cool "throw back" videos of his playing from "back in the day" and Doug Polk and the Poker Lab stuff is outstanding. Really is getting me back into poker...at least playing live in card rooms in LA.

4/20/18 11:20 PM
4/14/18
In.
4/20/18 11:24 PM
1/1/01
I was so impressed with the Upswing Poker videos and online articles that I signed up for their Poker Lab. It is really, really good stuff. It's laid out in a really systematic way (I'm maybe 15% of the way through it) but it's some great information that has absolutely improved my game:

NOTE: This video is not a review from me, just a review from YouTube I found.

4/20/18 11:40 PM
11/15/04

I don’t know if this is a stupid sounding question but what the hell...

These advance players and techniques/strategies or maybe more so the techniques/strategies...