OtherGround Forums Spotify employees melting down over Rogan podcast

9/19/20 5:35 PM
3/17/03
Imagine if he gets dumped, but contractually still receives the 100mil, like that Ninja kid.

He could build his own Spotify.
9/19/20 5:35 PM
11/10/18

As a business owner I can absolutely say I would have fired them after the second meeting. If you won’t do that you simply aren’t in charge, you work for them and their stupid opinions. 

9/19/20 5:37 PM
2/12/14
TexDeuce -

Spotify is reportedly fighting with employees about hosting episodes of Joe Rogan's podcast

• Spotify CEO Daniel Ek addressed concerns in an all-hands meeting on Wednesday
  • Ek said Rogan's podcast had been the subject of 10 meetings and told employees not to leak to the press
  • Spotify has already removed JRE episodes by right wing figures as reported by Vice

Spotify is facing a heated internal struggle with employees over whether it should host episodes of "The Joe Rogan Experience".

Vice reported that CEO Daniel Ek addressed staff concerns at an all-hands meeting on Wednesday. "In the case of Joe Rogan, a total of 10 meetings have been held with various groups and individuals to hear their respective concerns," Ek said, per sources who spoke to Vice on the condition of anonymity.

Vice said its sources shared questions that had been submitted for the Q&A portion of the meeting. The questions suggest that friction is building between Spotify's leadership and its staff over the podcast.

"Many LGBTQAI+/ally Spotifiers feel unwelcome and alienated because of leadership's response in JRE conversations. What is your message to those people?" asked employees.

The back-and-forth indicates Spotify will increasingly have to deal with moderation issues not dissimilar to those at social-media companies like Facebook and Twitter. The company has already removed other episodes featuring right-wing figures according to Vice.