OtherGround Forums Stories: Dodged Bullets

6/18/19 11:37 PM
4/21/10

In

6/19/19 1:14 AM
4/13/12
jcblass - Walked into a gas station one Friday night. I was a young college student living near Miami. This particular gas station was near Biscayne Blvd, by the infamous Denny's that was featured in Cocaine Cowboys.

A few of us were going drinking at some shithole indie rock bar called "The Spider Pussy" or something, but realized we needed cash. No biggie I thought, I will just run into this gas station and pull out some money from the ATM.

I walk in, see the ATM is in the far back corner of the gas station. As I am in there 3 big black dudes walk in and just start pulling shit off the racks and stuffing them in their pants. They are blindly taking whatever they want, chips, candy bars, headphones...

I can see this all going down from the back of the gas station. As these dudes are grabbing shit, I can hear the Indian cashier yelling at them over the microphone..."you can't hab dat, you must pay, you must pay..." the black dudes are yelling back, "man fuck that, we ain't paying for shit..."

Luckily for the cashier he can talk tough because he is enclosed in a bullet proof box in the middle of the gas station. So while he is arguing and yelling at these dudes stealing, he locks the doors, no one can leave.

Eventually the black dudes and the Indian guy are yelling face to face through the glass, the black dudes demanding he opens the door, the Indian dude demanding they pay or he "call the cops..."

Finally one of the big black dudes reaches in his pants and pulls out a hand gun...he is waving it around demanding the cashier opens the door before he "shoots this bitch up..." My heart is beating, no one has seen me yet, but I know the automatic door won't open.