S&C UnderGround Kettlebells barbells

2/19/17 10:23 PM
1/1/01
bull neck - Yes, sort of. Google Andrew Read Program Maximum. I wrote that article nearly two years before simple and sinister came out. And that article was based off an old challenge on the Dragon Door forum called the Titan Challenge that a guy named Josef came up with.

Simple and sinister is an absolute piece of shit as a book. It's top three for worst fitness books I have ever spent money on. (With the other two being Martin Rooney's Training for Warriors and Zac Even Esh's Underground Strength manual).

Can you give a rundown on why you thought Rooney's and Zac's books were inferior? I'm not an expert or anything, but Rooney's book looked solid.
2/22/17 12:45 AM
1/1/01
Underground strength - when someone trans a bunch of teenagers out of their backyard and makes outlandish claims contrary to every other high level strength coach ever it's a bit strange. Basically, he trained a bunch of kids going through puberty. He could have done nothing with them and they'd have gotten stronger. That's how puberty works. To claim you came up with some fantastic system based off their results is BS.

Then add in photos taken randomly, spelling and grammatical mistakes, and it's one of the worst produced books as well as one of the most misinformed.

Rooney's book - Rooney was a PT at an Equinox next door to Renzo's. He got lucky when IFL was formed and a bunch of fighters were looking to train. He was the only staff member at that gym who wasn't booked out and offered to train them all for free. Any PT worth their salt knows the only reason you do that is in the hope of picking up some actual paying clients.

Then you take a bunch of photos of people training. Add in a bunch of exercises. A hurricane or two. And his book is just a meaningless swamp of mindless drivel. At least Pavel's book has some direction to it.