UnderGround Forums CSAC issues memo on dangers of weight cutting

2/21/15 11:05 PM
2/1/12
Strykr619 - Time for day of weigh ins with hydration test.
Seems like a day before weigh in with a hydration test is an option. Set a maximum dehydration percentage and have different penalties for percentages over, with financial being first and fights being cancelled if a fighter is deemed dehydrated beyond a medically decided maximum level.

I'm a layman, nobody dude, but that sounds like a common sense solution, which means it probably sucks and is totally lame. Phone Post 3.0
2/21/15 11:06 PM
2/1/12
Tug Dabone - I've competed in powerlifting under USAPL / IPF rules. Weigh-ins started two hours before the competition got under way. If you tried to do a drastic weight cut through dehydration you really were likely to diminish your performance, even though it's not considered an "endurance" sport. When I wrestled in high school our weigh-ins were less than an hour before our matches. I'd really like to see something similar in professional MMA.
Risk of concussion has already ruled this out. Phone Post 3.0
2/21/15 11:26 PM
10/13/09
Axel Foley - 
Tug Dabone - I've competed in powerlifting under USAPL / IPF rules. Weigh-ins started two hours before the competition got under way. If you tried to do a drastic weight cut through dehydration you really were likely to diminish your performance, even though it's not considered an "endurance" sport. When I wrestled in high school our weigh-ins were less than an hour before our matches. I'd really like to see something similar in professional MMA.
Risk of concussion has already ruled this out. Phone Post 3.0

yup.

2/22/15 12:30 AM
8/31/13
Axel Foley -
Seems like a day before weigh in with a hydration test is an option. Set a maximum dehydration percentage and have different penalties for percentages over, with financial being first and fights being cancelled if a fighter is deemed dehydrated beyond a medically decided maximum level.