UnderGround Forums If Anthony Smith pulled the Diego card on Jones

Edited: 2/16/20 1:17 PM
8/26/13
Posts: 2624

Would he get a pass? 

2/16/20 1:25 PM
9/19/13
Posts: 7821

Of course, not. I'm assuming you are being sarcastic to expose the UG's obvious double standards.

2/16/20 1:56 PM
6/3/08
Posts: 996

Pull a Matt Hamil? No.  

2/16/20 2:05 PM
2/17/03
Posts: 14368
MagnumPeeEye - 

Pull a Matt Hamil? No.  


IIRC, Hammil didn't pull anything. He couldn't continue because his shoulder. Never pretended it had anything to do with the 12-6 elbows. That was 100% the ref's fault, not Matt's.

(If someone remembers this differently, please correct me).
2/16/20 2:42 PM
8/6/06
Posts: 49917

He was fighting Jon Jones, so I'm sure they would have given him a No Contest. Honestly, I think enough of the fight occurred that it would have gone to a technical decision.

2/16/20 3:00 PM
7/20/01
Posts: 7818
wiggum - 
MagnumPeeEye - 

Pull a Matt Hamil? No.  


IIRC, Hammil didn't pull anything. He couldn't continue because his shoulder. Never pretended it had anything to do with the 12-6 elbows. That was 100% the ref's fault, not Matt's.

(If someone remembers this differently, please correct me).

matt was on his back with a separated shoulder, eyes filled with blood, and mazzagatti was yelling if he 'could continue' - then waved it off upon receiving no response (from the deaf gentleman with his eyes closed)
2/16/20 3:08 PM
2/17/03
Posts: 14370
branchdavidian - 
wiggum - 
MagnumPeeEye - 

Pull a Matt Hamil? No.  


IIRC, Hammil didn't pull anything. He couldn't continue because his shoulder. Never pretended it had anything to do with the 12-6 elbows. That was 100% the ref's fault, not Matt's.

(If someone remembers this differently, please correct me).

matt was on his back with a separated shoulder, eyes filled with blood, and mazzagatti was yelling if he 'could continue' - then waved it off upon receiving no response (from the deaf gentleman with his eyes closed)

All-time bad reffing. Should have been stopped way before Jon threw the illegal elbows.
2/16/20 3:11 PM
11/28/03
Posts: 109406

if the illegal strike is accidental it goes to the cards iirc

 

 

2/16/20 3:13 PM
11/28/03
Posts: 109407

and who wants to argue that they were legal anymore?

https://imgur.com/N1Mzq1t

2/16/20 5:39 PM
6/3/08
Posts: 997

.....and just like that, nobody is discussing the thread topic!

2/16/20 5:48 PM
1/1/01
Posts: 23034

Most here thought Anthony should have taken the dq for the win because they don’t like Jones.

Edited: 2/17/20 6:10 AM
11/24/13
Posts: 4205

Precursor, I hate JBJ and would have been thrilled to see him lose that way. 

That being said, Smith could have pulled it off if he just sold it and said, "yeah now I get the champ money. If Jones want's to cry about it he can win a few and get a rematch." 

Boom. Top-10 PPV sales and a belt to collect dust at home. Plus Jones should have lost 2-3 more by DQ by now just for roids and eye pokes so it doesn't really matter anyways, he probably wouldn't be the "goat" if the rules and real scoring applied to him.

2/17/20 9:00 AM
12/26/19
Posts: 249
ranier wolfcastle -

and who wants to argue that they were legal anymore?

https://imgur.com/N1Mzq1t

Thanks. Definitely 12-7 and legal as can be, thanks for clarifying.

2/17/20 9:42 AM
6/23/12
Posts: 17074

I thought you can't win a belt on a DQ? 

2/17/20 9:47 AM
7/16/13
Posts: 1004

I'd be fine with it. Jones is incredibly dirty and should have more than one DQ, but never even gets a point deduction. 

 

 

2/17/20 12:34 PM
6/23/10
Posts: 3833
oranos -

Of course, not. I'm assuming you are being sarcastic to expose the UG's obvious double standards.

You're absolutely right.  I made this same reference as OP on the "Diego Gets a Pass" thread and rustled a few jimmies.

 

 

2/17/20 1:52 PM
7/5/13
Posts: 10614
RockTheVote -

I thought you can't win a belt on a DQ? 

That might just might apply only to wrasslin. I don’t know though. 

2/17/20 1:54 PM
11/16/09
Posts: 4454
RockTheVote -

I thought you can't win a belt on a DQ? 

I hope thats not true. Or else "Im the champ and Im losing? How many Dave Chapelle Rick James cunt punts will it take to keep my belt!?"