UnderGround Forums SAS removes all doubts

2/26/20 11:30 AM
1/1/01

"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and to remove all doubt."
-Abraham Lincoln

Stephen A. Smith is the most inadvertently hilarious figure in mixed martial arts. He came under intense criticism after belittling Donald "Cowboy" Cerrone's performance vs. Conor McGregor, and during a recent appearance on Sirius XM’s “The AK & Barak Show” Smith removed all doubts.

"Fellas, I’m learning the sport,” said Smith, as transcribed by Harry Davies for BE. “Muay Thai, being in a rear-naked choke. I don’t know. I never said I knew. What I said was, I was at that fight. I know what the hell I saw for those 40 seconds. I’m not debating the sport. Like for example, there’s a whole bunch of cats that talk basketball, you think they know basketball like I know basketball? I’ve been covering the sport for 25 years. I got inside information all over the place. No, I’m an aficionado on basketball. I’m a reporter and spectator everywhere else.”

“I saw this dude get hit with three shoulder shrugs right to his nose. He backed up, had a chance to run away for a few seconds to gather himself, didn’t do it. Only did one side kick, which didn’t connect. Then got kicked in the side of his head by Conor McGregor, he goes down and out.

“This is your 50th fight, dog. You didn’t know how to back up and catch your breath? Then, oh — by the way — you went out in 40 seconds. Then we find out it’s your first pay-per-view fight. Oh, how man times we’ve seen brothers step in the ring and we go like this, ‘Bright lights might have been too much for them.’ But because it’s Cowboy Cerrone and it’s the MMA, suddenly I’m not allowed to say that? It’s ridiculous. It’s ridiculous.”

It wasn't a side kick. It wasn't Cerrone's first PPV, it was his 14th. It's not the MMA. There's no such thing as a football bat, but that's the level of Smith's commentary.