What if ... Should I open up a 501(c)(3) fish rescue?

4/18/19 6:33 PM
6/6/17

I've been thinking about this for awhile now.  I think this works (someone correct me if I'm wrong, I'm far from an expert in this field):

1.  I can open up a 501(c)(3) that relates to saving/caring for/adopting out fish.

2.  People can donate CASH to my 501(c)(3) and get a tax deduction.

3.  People could donate FISH they no longer want to my 501(c)(3) and get a deduction (not sure on this part, super cool if they could get a deduction for whate they paid for the fist, or even ok if they get a lesser amount equal to the fair market value of the fish at the time of contribution).

4.  I can SELL the fish and pay no tax on the gains, so long as I reinvest the profits back into the non-profit business.

5.  I can't take out "profits", HOWEVER, I CAN pay myself a reasonable salary.

Will this work?  Any reason not to do it?  

Thanks!

4/18/19 6:42 PM
7/30/14

A fish euthanasia clinic is an interesting concept. I wish you all the best.

4/18/19 6:47 PM
7/24/16

Sure. They allow Media Matters to operate as a 501(c)(3). Why not your gay little fish operation?

4/18/19 6:53 PM
6/7/18
Homeslice - 

I've been thinking about this for awhile now.  I think this works (someone correct me if I'm wrong, I'm far from an expert in this field):

1.  I can open up a 501(c)(3) that relates to saving/caring for/adopting out fish.

3.  People could donate FISH they no longer want to my 501(c)(3) and get a deduction (not sure on this part, super cool if they could get a deduction for whate they paid for the fist, or even ok if they get a lesser amount equal to the fair market value of the fish at the time of contribution).

4.  I can SELL the fish and pay no tax on the gains, so long as I reinvest the profits back into the non-profit business.

Thanks!

Your bullshit finally worked again. Just when I think I'm out, you pull me back in. Congrats on being the king of retards.