Evinger calls for immediate rematch after controversial main event ending
The Invicta FC 20 main event ended with a stunning upset – challenger Yana Kunitskaya beat former champion Tonya Evinger via armbar at 1:59 of the first, live on UFC Fight Pass. When a referee does the job right, no one remembers he or she was even there; that was unfortunately not the case here.
Kunitskaya put Evinger in an armbar, and Triple Threat attempted to escape by stepping on her opponent’s face. While a stomp in his scenario is illegal, a step – and this was a step – is perfectly legal. Unfortunately, referee Mike England told Evinger to adjust, and on the process, the armbar got tighter, and she was forced to tap.
It was Evinger’s first loss since 2011. She is not a person afraid to speak her mind, and frankly. Indeed, she revels in it.
— Invicta FC (@InvictaFights) November 17, 2016
However, Evinger offered a firm, measured response to the referee error on her social network.
“I can’t even explain what happened, but if you know anything about MMA I was not doing anything illegal,” wrote Evinger. “I was forced to reposition and she was able to take advantage of that. It’s truly one of the most devastating losses of mine, I can’t believe that it happened. I’m not blaming the ref by any means but the outcome was due to that poor call. We are definitely gonna protest that call and see what can be done to get a rematch immediately. All I can say is thanks to everyone that was there to support and apologize for wasting everyone’s time.”
Huge congratulations are due to Kunitskaya, who did everything right in the fight. However, it is clear that a rematch is in order, and as Invicta does the right thing, one will no doubt be schedule.