Skip to main content

Mihail Kotruta out, Issa Isakov steps in to take on 'Magic Man' at BRAVE CF 58

Maciej Gierszewski has a new opponent ahead of BRAVE's Korean debut.

BRAVE Combat Federation's first-ever event in Korea has a new fight. Mihail Kotruta was supposed to take on Maciej Gierszewski in a super lightweight contest but has been forced to pull out due to injury. In his place, BRAVE CF has drafted in Issa Isakov, who will look to make a winning return to action after dropping a unanimous decision in his latest outing.

Isakov is an IMMAF European silver medalist - his only loss in that tournament was at the hands of Axel Sola, who is also on the BRAVE CF 58 fight card. He has two BRAVE CF wins, including an armbar victory over Rami Hamed at BRAVE CF 33 and a unanimous decision domination of Djamil Chan at BRAVE CF 38. His only BRAVE CF loss came at the hands of top super lightweight Marcel Grabinski at BRAVE CF 50.

Now Isakov will have the opportunity to return to the winning column when he takes on Gierszewski. One of Europe's deadliest strikers, "Magic Man" has three wins under the BRAVE CF banner – all by knockout, including a tremendous KO in his promotional debut at BRAVE CF 24, when he shocked the world by flooring Cian Cowley in the second round with one of the nastiest knockouts in the organization's history.

BRAVE CF 58 takes place April 30 and is headlined by Korean superstar Tae Kyun Kim, who takes on Roman Bogatov, with the winner being in pole position to earn a shot at the vacant Featherweight world title. The inaugural fight card for BRAVE CF in East Asia also counts on a variety of top athletes from around the globe taking on some of Korea's finest fighters.

The current BRAVE CF 58 lineup includes:

  • Tae Kyun Kim vs. Roman Bogatov
  • Marcin Bandel vs. Luis Felipe Dias
  • Maciej Gierszewski vs. Issa Isakov
  • Rolando Dy vs. Ho Taek Oh
  • Mzwandile Hlongwa vs. La In Jae
  • Abdullah Al-Qahtani vs. Yong Soo Jung
  • Axel Sola vs. Yoon Sung Jang
  • Jun Soo Lim vs. Myung Hwan Kim
  • Sim Kai Xiong vs. Seung Chul Lee
  • Gillian Goh vs. Yerin Hong